Where to start?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DPTinthemaking15

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new to this side of the forums, so excuse my dumb questions. Recently I was accepted to medical school, and I have some down time before it begins, so I figured I would learn about investing, finance, stocks, etc. Most of my undergrad was in science/nutrition classes, and I know nothing about the business world.

After reading the Finance for Dummies sticky thread, I failed to find a website I really liked. Can anyone recommend a good website, app, or Youtube channel for beginners? If it helps, I don't mind paying for decent classes. Any help would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

If you want to learn about investing and don't mind reading, I would check out the book called Rich Dad Poor Dad. If you don't have time, I will provide a link that is a video that will give you some information about it. If you like it I would highly suggest reading up on it.

If you want to learn about investing and don't mind reading, I would check out the book called Rich Dad Poor Dad. If you don't have time, I will provide a link that is a video that will give you some information about it. If you like it I would highly suggest reading up on it.

Thank you so much! I just purchased this book on Amazon.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I started with the book "I Will Teach You To Be Rich" by Ramit Sethi. It's a week by week approach to getting your personal finances in order with a decent amount of information on investing. After that, there are plenty of other options. I ended up reading The Four Pillars of Investing and A Random Walk Down Wall Street to give me a better idea of the stock market.