Whether should I take more classes or not

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medgoal2020

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Thanks for taking your time giving me advices on what route I should be taking.

I graduated with Biochemistry and Biological System Engineering degrees in December 2015 at University of Nebraska-Lincoln . My cGPA was 3.34 and sGPA is 3.6x (if I classified some of my engineering courses under BCPM). I initially have no plan of going into medicine. However, my experience volunteering at a clinical department of a people in need program at my city sparked my interest (and still is). I decided to go back to college and raise my GPA. Here what I have done so far:

Fall 2017: I got all As in my 11 hour credits (including A+ for Anatomy with cadaver program)
Spring 2018: I got A+ in all my classes except for one which is an A (20 hour credits)
Fall 2018: I'm on track on getting all A in my 18 hour credits semester (courses including immunology, biology of virus, and molecular genetic; I think I might get all A+ in these courses... hope this is the case)
Spring 2019: I registered for 19 hour credits semester (courses include molecular biology, bioinformatic, and behavior neuroscience)

I am deciding to whether to take more classes during the Fall 2019 or not... Please advise me on whether I should shoot for 3.6 GPA (require additional 13 credit hours of all As after the Spring 2019) or stop taking classes and work more on MCAT and volunteering more.

For the 13 credit hours: I'm planning on taking System Biology, Functional Histology (with lab), Inorganic Chemistry (with lab), and Endocrinology.

Thank You!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
After Spring what is your GPA looking like? You could study all summer and fall and take an early January MCAT. Then take a spring semester or strengthen ECs and apply in June.