Which AP Classes to take for Junior+Senior Year

pointystar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore right now with one AP class, which is World History 2. I know I'm an idiot for not taking a medical-related class, but at that time I wasn't sure what about my future. So I just winged it and took history. I am a lazy student, and require at least like 30 minutes of break for every hour of studying/homework. I don't study in my free time, instead just cram an hour or two the night before the test. I'm okay at test-taking, receiving around a 90 average on my tests (and my teacher gives some hard-ass questions). I plan on taking 5 AP classes next year to get my **** together for college, med school etc etc. I'm kinda set on taking AP English Lang because my English is ass. Maybe AP Bio, but I heard that was at least 2 hours of homework at night. Suggestions? (I specifically want to go to Radiology, but I sense that I still have a long way to go).

Members don't see this ad.

You have a very long way to go. AP courses are good for showing undergrads that you can handle course loads. If you get a 5, or at least a 4 on the AP exam, most undergrads will give you some sort of credit so you don't have to retake the course in college. That said, many medical schools want to see that you've done college course work for the pre-requisites to apply. So even if you place out of your undergrad's General Chemistry 1+2 with AP Chem, the med school will probably still want to see that you've taken Gen Chem in college, so you may still have to retake the course in undergrad depending on what medical schools you apply to.

Furthermore, if you plan on being biology major, you can take AP biology and place out of Gen Bio 1+2, then take more advanced biology courses to show medical schools that you can handle the course load, so they will overlook that you used AP credit to place out of Gen Bio 1+2 in undergrad.