Which school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDocDO

1K Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been accepted to both WVSOM and LECOM-PA. I can't decide which one to go to. Cost of tuition aside, which school would you guys go to and why? NOTE: The search function is not working properly or I'd look as there are tons of info on LECOM. Thanks for your opinions!

Members don't see this ad.

raptor5 said:
WVSOM which is also the cheaper school.

Not if you're out of state! LECOM is only about $26,000 while WVSOM is around $44,000 :eek: .

Members don't see this ad :)
Dorkus Maximus said:
Not if you're out of state! LECOM is only about $26,000 while WVSOM is around $44,000 :eek: .
Yup. I am an out-of-state student for both schools. It will be EXPENSIVE for me to attend WVSOM. But, cost of tuition aside, which school would you guys go to? I want to specialize in EM. I think LECOM would be better since they have a lot more rotation sites. The other positive is that I can possibly do rotation in my hometown starting my third year. WVSOM makes you stay in WV for your 3rd year rotation. You can rotate anywhere your 4th year but it is RECOMMENDED that you stay in WV. What I don't like about LECOM is it's dress code, too cold, and too much snow....cold, snowy weather makes me sleepy :sleep: . I really like WVSOM. The only two downside to going there is I can't do rotation outside of WVSOM starting my third year. The tuition is high, $20,000 more per year. It's tough having to choose.

WVSOM is turning out some great students, I know several that are top notch. I have also heard from a surgery pd that they are some of the best students on rotations. That said, it is really about you not the school. Go to a school that fit you, if you like the mountains and small town feel, then WVSOM it is... You'd be surprised how much it depends on you and not the school, they're going to give you the info.