Why do i need shadowing/clinical hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Loveneko

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So question, I'm a Nurse on a Cardiac/Oncology. I've been working in hospitals for 5 years. I know intimately what physicians do and how they do it and I collaborate with them on a daily basis (and there is very little, if any difference between a physician and a nurse when it comes to determining the best course of treatment for a patient, i mean Afterall I AM with the patient for a cool 13 hours and I'm not just there talking about "feelings".
Do i need unpaid shadowing hours? Seems a little redundant but i might be incorrect and if so I'll ask one of our doctors if they wouldn't mind me tagging along for free.

Members don't see this ad.

I think shadowing hours would probably be a good idea, because it's different working as a nurse vs spending the entire day with the physician. As a nurse you have a bunch of things you're responsible for to keep you occupied without getting a good understanding of the daily life of the physician. It would also be a good way to get experience with different types of specialties - you could shadow someone in the ER, or a dermatologist, or a psychiatrist, and get exposed to types of medicine you haven't seen clinically. So it would be a good idea for you to shadow; shadowing one of your own docs is fine but it would certainly behoove you to shadow other types as well.

I don't think you'd need to do anything specifically to boost "clinical" hours. You've obviously had tons of direct patient interaction, so you know what it's like dealing with sick people.