why do YOU want an MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zgotts

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello all, I am a recent college grad who majored in Neuroscience and is now doing research on the genetics of autism at a university.

i chose the research route because it seemed that getting a PhD was what i wanted... i really want to learn about things like neuroplasticity and human cognition, learning, and perception.

obviously it would be best if i could be in a Neuro lab right now, as that would give me experience in what i actually think i want to do later on, but this job was all i was offered, and i wanted to get some solid experience in the doing of science research (... and i just needed a job!).

anyways, i'm really starting to wonder if this is for me. i have many different scientific questions that i want to answer in my lifetime, or at least try to, but for me the laboratory environment seems to be too repetitive and mundane, and also stark and cold to the point that i feel like my soul/personality is decaying (alright, maybe an exaggeration, but close). i also really can't see myself continuing to work with lab animals.

i'm wondering if going the route of an MD and becoming a neurologist might be a better way of answering my questions. i have a passion for learning, especially from people, and i also truly love the excitement of a constantly changing environment (which is what i'd imagine med school/hospital work to be like).

so, i'm just curious to see how my thoughts/ideas of med school (which are only briefly touched on here) match up to those of other people what are in or have completed med school.

has anyone here made the switch from research labs to the hospital?

more importantly... why do YOU want your MD?

Members don't see this ad.