1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Why do you want to get drunk?

Discussion in 'General Residency Issues' started by Blue Rover, Mar 14, 2007.

1. Blue Rover

Blue Rover Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    With Match Day now a little more than a day away, I've noticed a lot of people saying they want to get absolutely smashed after they get their envelopes.

Does anyone else find it just a little ironic that even though we're all physicians-in-training, some of us are going to engage in some decidedly unhealthy activity as soon as our futures are secure? Last I remember, binge drinking seemed to be associated with a lot of adverse outcomes.

I'm not a prohibitionist: people should be able to drink alcohol, but as the alcohol industry says, please drink responsibly. Sip, don't guzzle!

And PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if you're going to get totally ****-faced (or even - or especially - if you're going to be mildly buzzed) get a designated driver. :)

2. NinerNiner999

NinerNiner999 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Thanks for the PSA. I'm off to the bar now...

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. VuDOo

2+ Year Member

Why not?

4. DreamLover

DreamLover Bored Certified
    Physician 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    That was funny

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. fang

7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Unhealthy? To enjoy a few mojito's with some friends while you share some (hopefully) good news, or at least the end of a period of uncertainty?