Why do you want to get drunk?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Blue Rover

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
With Match Day now a little more than a day away, I've noticed a lot of people saying they want to get absolutely smashed after they get their envelopes.

Does anyone else find it just a little ironic that even though we're all physicians-in-training, some of us are going to engage in some decidedly unhealthy activity as soon as our futures are secure? Last I remember, binge drinking seemed to be associated with a lot of adverse outcomes.

I'm not a prohibitionist: people should be able to drink alcohol, but as the alcohol industry says, please drink responsibly. Sip, don't guzzle!

And PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if you're going to get totally ****-faced (or even - or especially - if you're going to be mildly buzzed) get a designated driver. :)

Members don't see this ad.

With Match Day now a little more than a day away, I've noticed a lot of people saying they want to get absolutely smashed after they get their envelopes.

Does anyone else find it just a little ironic that even though we're all physicians-in-training, some of us are going to engage in some decidedly unhealthy activity as soon as our futures are secure? Last I remember, binge drinking seemed to be associated with a lot of adverse outcomes.

I'm not a prohibitionist: people should be able to drink alcohol, but as the alcohol industry says, please drink responsibly. Sip, don't guzzle!

And PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if you're going to get totally ****-faced (or even - or especially - if you're going to be mildly buzzed) get a designated driver. :)

Unhealthy? To enjoy a few mojito's with some friends while you share some (hopefully) good news, or at least the end of a period of uncertainty?