Why Premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

confuse

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
This is my first time in here and I'm excited to see so many premeds. I am in my second year and feeling kind of lost about all the premed experience. Mind sharing with me why you want to be a doctor? I'm pursuing both a degree in engineering and bio, and have taken many classes in both major. I've always wanted to be a doctor for idealist reasons (help patients, communicate with people, feeling appreciated, etc.) but after seeing how things are run in the ER and other hospital environments, I realize that reality is very different from what I've imagine. I also found that engineering comes naturally to me while I have to struggle in the bio and organic chem classes; however, I don't have any interest in an engineering profession. I'm at a crossroad right now and taking a step back to carefully evaluate myself and my ambitions. I see so many unhappy and stressed out premeds from my school and I ask myself, "all of that for what?" My roomate asks me an interesting question, "why do you want to be a doctor? If you can't be a doctor, would you be willing to be a nurse?" I haven't been able to give him a definite answer yet. I'm hoping that you guys can help me shed some light in these matters.

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by confuse
Hi,