Withdrew from MD Program in 2nd year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lavender201

Reaction score
Hello,

I hope you are all doing well. I'm new to SDN but I could use some help and guidance at this time. I recently left medical school in my second year just a quick background about me:
  • BA in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (3.2 GPA)
  • MS in Biomedical Science (3.0 GPA)
  • MCAT: 501 (multiple attempts)
  • Prior to starting medical school was wait-listed at two DO programs on the East Coast, and accepted to Temple's Podiatry program
  • Previous MA experience in OB/GYN, Published one paper in Undergrad with Microbiology bench work experience
  • Lots of leadership, community service, and shadowing experience
  • Began MD program at SGU in 2020 (Term 2 was Credit Remediated, Term 3 Failed the first time and repeated with a passing grade, Term 4 took an LOA for the first time and repeated 2 more times and Failed)
  • From August 2020-June 2022 I was Online, I moved to Grenada for Medical School in July 2022 and Withdrew from the MD program in July 2023

I'm not exactly sure on how to proceed forward with my Career aspirations in medicine. The biggest reason for me to leave medical school was the burn out, lack of professionalism and bullying from SGU, and rigor of the curriculum. I know I tried my very best and gave every effort and energy I could into those three years I was there. I put relationships and personal experiences on the side and fully focused on working and studying hard. At the end of the day it came down to me not being proud to graduate from an institution like SGU, and I know that experience will be similar at another Caribbean school so although I am passionate about medicine and continuing my career in it here are my non-negotiables:

• Will not go back to a Caribbean medical school EVER