Worcester State University

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

otguymass

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I am looking to apply to Worcester State for the 2013 year. Anyone else out there? It looks like a great program!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm looking to apply for admission In 2015. Wondering how competitive it is though....
Have you competed their prereqs?

I'm in my first year of the post-bach OT program at Worcester. Saw this topic and figure I would throw in my .02 about the program.

I graduated undergrad spring 2013, and the program started May 2013 (so I only got like, 10 days break between graduation and starting up the OT program.. that was rough). However, I'm VERY happy with my decision.

THE PROS:
1. It's cheap. Real cheap. Just for this Spring semester, the tuition was a TOTAL of about 3k. I have friends that are in private schools for OT and their school loan debt will total to around 50-60k. My total tuition is over half the cost of that.
2. WSU gives a lot of financial aid.
3. The passing rate for the boards exam is very high- I believe around 90%.
4. The course load is just enough that so far, I've been able to keep a part-time job to help keep the money coming in. Again, I know people that are in private school programs that don't have much time to keep up with a part time job (because their program is a little bit shorter so more intense).
5. Level 1 fieldwork is in all 4 settings (pediatrics, geriatrics, mental illness, phys dysfunction). Most programs usually just have level 1 fieldowork (80 hours) in ONE setting, over the course of 2 weeks (so 40 hour weeks). However, at WSU, each semester requires just 20 hours of fieldwork in a certain setting. The 4 semesters obviously have the total amount of level 1 fieldwork add up to the necessary 80 hours. This allows students to dip their toes into all types of settings, instead of just being thrown into one.