Work at Orthodontics? Passport to get in?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Shadowwalker, 05.16.14.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. Shadowwalker

Shadowwalker 2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Hello everyone,

I am currently a sophomore in Biology Major. I have not had any degree in dental hygienist yet.
    Does anyone have any idea is there a degree required for those who seek to work as dental assistant?
    More importantly, I would like to work at orthodontic. I really enjoy handing on brackets, elastic ties, wires. I repeat, I extremely like to work on braces,
    Is there a degree required to work at orthodontic office?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Glimmer1991

Glimmer1991 SDN Gold Donor Gold Donor 2+ Year Member

Dental Student
    Since you are in school full-time, it doesn't make much sense for you to actually be on payroll as an assistant. However, I'm sure there is an orthodontist that would allow you to volunteer at his/her office... but I doubt that you'd be able to do so in the capacity you're hoping for.

I think the degree requirements depend on the state you're in. Some docs will train assistants, whereas others want assistants with degrees.

As an aside, dental hygiene and dental assisting are not the same thing. Assisting doesn't necessarily require a degree. Hygiene does. The hygienists are the ones who clean your teeth, and they require anywhere from 1-4 more years of schooling than an assistant. They also make quite a bit more money.

Last edited: 05.16.14
  4. Shadowwalker

Pre-Dental
    Haha @glimmer,
    Thanks.
    Let me tell you this, I know an orthodontic office, related to my family. He allows a passion girl(21years old) to work for him because of her specificity.