Work RVU rate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuroGuyIP

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been happily employed by a health system for 6 years now with the same work RVU, $61 per RVU since I started. Is it unreasonable to renegotiate this number and if so, what is the best approach? This is my only job out of fellowship so I am not experienced with this type of thing. Thanks for any insight!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
2021 data

Attachments

• 3682081E-C9C7-48CE-B0FD-6D36ED37B298.png
    3682081E-C9C7-48CE-B0FD-6D36ED37B298.png
    130.5 KB · Views: 364
2021 data
thanks for posting this. I'm a little confused though. Which of these columns is the wRVU $ value? I thought the average $/wRVU was somewhere around $68

thanks for posting this. I'm a little confused though. Which of these columns is the wRVU $ value? I thought the average $/wRVU was somewhere around $68

It’s the compensation to work RVU ratio I believe

Correct, compensation to work RVU. I got this from a friend who is an employee of a hospital in Missouri. I don’t work on RVU so I really don’t have much knowledge of it. Just know this is what he gave me from his hospital

This includes ASA units, so perhaps some of these are doing anesthesia on the side so their $ per wrvu looks very high.

Ok I finally figured it out.

Let’s say the median $ per wRVU is 50. For hospital employees or people who pay no overhead this is what they’ll take home.

For people who do pay overhead then this number is not accurate. Say overhead is 50%. That means the equivalent $ per wRVU is 2 x 50 = 100.

However, this comparison is not as direct as it seems. Why? Because the person paying overhead should also be getting ancillary income from midlevelers, imaging, testing, DME, and facility fees/cut from ASC.

Hope that helps.