1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Work

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by simhawk, May 31, 2008.

1. simhawk

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I am a nontraditional studend I finished all my prereq. and retaking the MCAT. I have to support my family of 3 children and I was a former teacher. Since I didn't make it into medical school this year I don't know what to do: Should I teach for this upcoming school year or should I look for a medical related job? I was a nursing assistant years ago but my certification ran out so I can't do that anymore. Bottom line is I have to support my children and that is why I would go back to teaching. One catch to all this is I would have to move out of state in order to teach. Or I can stay where I am and work a minimum wage job and not make ends meet. I am hoping I will get in next year: fall 2009. Anyways does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. tbo

tbo MS-4
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    First of all, I admire your perseverance. It sounds like your plate is as full as most anyone in this forum, if not more. My opinion on this matter is simple - survive. I got into 1 medical school by a hair this year and during the wait, I was forced to really evaluate what was truly important to me. In full view of not getting into med school I decided that moving closer to my family was most important to me and while I was sitting on a lucrative job elsewhere, I decided I would move home even with a lower salary.