Working another semester as a Chemistry TA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThatIndividual23

Reaction score
I'm an undergraduate third-year and premed student, and I plan to apply to medical school next year. I worked as a Chemistry 101 TA for a semester, and was wondering if it would be worth continuing for another semester. I do not have a lot of volunteering related to leadership, and was wondering if there would be any benefit to working as a TA for the same class for another semester?

Members don't see this ad.

I TA’d for nearly 3 years and it was a lot of fun + a good way to consolidate info I learned in classes. I’d keep doing it unless it gets in the way of studying or accruing clinical + nonclinical experience

Members don't see this ad :)
Worth it. You will thanks yourself when you apply.

When you say you don't have a lot, don't you mean you have none? What opportunities can you get as a junior?

Honestly, what other activities are you involved with?
I've done 1-on-1 English practice with refugees for a year, I played piano at an elderly nursing facility for a semester, I've volunteered at a cancer center outpatient clinic for a semester, and I've worked in a research lab since freshman year. I have much more research experience than clinical or non-clinical volunteering, and I'm worried that I won't have enough volunteering experiences by the time that I apply in my senior year. I plan to continue with these activities next semester.

Only if it gets you a stronger letter from the professor you are TA'ing for. Otherwise, there is not really an additional benefit. Your time would be better spent doing non-clinical volunteering in the community like at a food bank.

Reactions: 1 user