working for independents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

think

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
Just wanted to see if any one out there has any input on what it is like to work for independents
I am asking because I may be landing a job with a small pharmacy near my house. It seems like a great location, and little stress but I don't want to jump the gun since I have no experience at all with independents
what can i expect the pay to be around?
what are some risks /benefits?
FYI i am located in south Jersey
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

What kind of benefit plan can they provide?

Employer paid health plan?
Long term and short term disability insurance?
Life insurance for you and the family?
Matched 401k?
Paid time off?
Evening and weekend differentials?
Maternity leave?
Paid medical leave?
Termination benefit?
Pension plan?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the input...great questions that I had not thought of before
I was thinking it may be much better to work for an independent since I have done chain pharmacy and hated every minute of it
any other advice will be appreciated and I'll let you guys know what I decide:)

Work itself is only half of the equation. Its the benefits and flexibility that define the quality of life. Don't get so hung up on the hourly payrate and work environment.

I've applied to and worked numerous independents in CA
They offered salaries at half the retail rate and zero benefits.
They preferred to pay cash and sign no contracts, against IRS regs.
It's all on-call.

In CA, most are owned by immigrant pharmacists and often end up raided by the BOP.
They seem to be the suppliers of choice for the Oxy crowd.
Work at your own risk.

The best bet is to work for outpatient services of hospitals that operate independently from the retail chains.