working in med school = insane?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hale-bopp

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's the story,
I'm planning on going to go to a state med school at which I will have to pay out of state tuition the first year, but will be in-state after that. The difference is about $15,000, but if I work half-time in the University system, I would pay in-state tuition.

I was asked if I would be interested in doing my favorite job (coach a club sport) for one of the state colleges. The hours would work out to a half-time job, say 2 afternoons a week and about half to 2/3 of weekends, but it would be doing something which I am passionate about and would love to stay involved with. So, it would be a time commitment, but it would also be a nice break from being a med student. As an undergrad, I spent 30-40 hours a week doing this sport and had no problems balancing it with school work and part-time jobs.

As a med student at this school, I would have classes end by 1 every day, with lab and PBL taking up 2 afternoons a week, so I would still have one afternoon completely free every week (and every evening free), and I would be able to mostly balance my weekend commitments so that I don't work the weekend before test blocks. Is there anyone out there who thinks that a person with really good time management skills who is really good at schoolwork could pull this off? I know that med school will be really hard and I'll have a ton of work, but I was wondering if anyone out there has worked part-time while in med school and thought that it was do-able.
(I figure that if I don't take this job, I would probably try to get a job doing research 2 afternoons a week anyway)

Thanks for your help!

-hale-bopp

Members don't see this ad.