Working in the field or observing a lot?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dfung

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Assuming I stay on track with all the pre-reqs i need to take, I'm hoping to apply to schools in the fall of 2005. I graduated in '02 from Cal Poly, SLO with an engineering degree. 2.8 GPA

Obviously my GPA isn't very competitive, though based on what i've heard from some admissions people, engineering GPAs tend to be lower than non-engineering GPAs.

Currently I'm working at a great company (Qualcomm) here in San Diego doing high tech stuff, and I'm taking night classes to fulfill my pre-reqs. However, I'm thinking in order to stand a chance and get into an optometry school i need to do well in my pre-req classes and OAT. Likewise, my extracurricular activities need be pretty good too.

I'm contemplating leaving my job to work part time at some random Optometrist's office just to gain experience and to make me more competitive. However, I'm concerned that in the event I dont get into optometry school, I'll be...

a) Slim chances getting in to opto school the following year
b) Slowing/stunting my progression in my current profession (comp. engineering)

Do you think shadowing and observing for a number of hours would suffice versus leaving my current job and getting some tech job at an opto office just to make me more 'competitive'?

I'm a bit concerned. I'm also getting married in March and working part time at $8/hr w/ no benefits (opto job) vs. what i'm getting paid now w/ benefits is scary.....

Any advice for a confused future applicant?!

Members don't see this ad.