Would appreciate any advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

elfin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
MCAT: 29N (8P, 12V, 9B)
cGPA: 3.59
sGPA: 3.25

I'm getting a late start in the application cycle, and with my low stats, should I even bother applying MD schools? The more I learn about DO schools and the osteopathic philosophy, the more I'm starting to lean towards DO anyway. However, I don't have any experience shadowing a DO. Should I still apply anyway?

Also, I'm a CA resident and would prefer to return to CA. But I'm aware that there is a very slight chance of that happening, so I'm prepared to apply throughout the country.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

http://www.aamc.org/data/facts/applicantmatriculant/table24-mcatgpagridall2007-09.pdf

Per the above AAMC data, you have a 38.6% shot at allopathic med schools based on your cGPA and MCAT score. Your chances are likely less than that, as your BCPM isn't very strong, and a PS of 8 is limiting, but if you have a steep upward grade trend in the sciences and strong ECs, you might consider applying to some less-selective allo med schools just to give it a try.

I think you'd have a very good chance at an acceptance to some of the DO schools, however. All DO schools don't require a DO letter. It's probably a good idea to try to shadow one though, for your own sake.

DO schools needing DO recommendation: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=10677&d=1217108730

Thanks, Catalystik! I've noticed you've replied to many on this board. I don't think I'm alone in saying how grateful I am for your help. I have another question: