Would it be an absolute waste to apply this cycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ihave Nonamè

2+ Year Member
Dec 9, 2017
I've only had success getting lab research and non-clinical volunteering. I've tried all year to get into the hospital (even just to volunteer) but am consistently told that with covid they aren't bringing new people in. I just now met with a doctor over zoom who said I could shadow him but that it would have to be in the summer or fall when the hospital and clinic have eased restrictions. My applications to work as an MA in a clinic go ignored (largely because I'm not a certified MA). I have years of experience in customer service though I know these don't at all satisfy the hospital experience expectation...

I'm an older non-trad student and honestly don't want yet another year off. I've been told by a few that I should apply anyway, that others in this cycle will also be missing this past year of experience. I've thought to apply to just a handful though I know this halfway approach typically isn't advised. Would sending in a few this cycle be an absolute mistake? I'm graduating after next quarter with a degree in Cell and Molecular Bio (3.6-3.7 GPA at my current UC school and a poor academic past at another). I'm working in a neuroscience lab but will not have been there a year when I apply nor will I have worked as a volunteer in the community for more than a year. I plan to take the MCAT late spring/early summer. I'm mixed race black/white.

EdgeTrimmer

2+ Year Member
May 26, 2018
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student