Young CI

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The_Trainer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a 3rd year DPT student going into my first clinical affiliation. I've been assigned my CI, who is a recent PT school grad (1-2 years clinical experience).

I can't help but feel as though I would have a better experience with a more experienced clinician, however am open to learning whatever I can from anyone. I'm wondering if anyone had a similar experience, and what they thought?

Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

don't fret. I was a CI within 6 months of graduating. Granted I was also an athletic trainer before so I had some patient care experience and I am exceptional. ;) your clinical internship site wouldn't have assigned you the CI if they didn't think they could do it.

Reactions: 1 users
I can definitely see where you are coming from. I mean I know younger therapists have the DPT and all but experience, imo, seems like a much bigger deal when it comes to actual clinical practice which is SO different from what is taught in school. So I get what you're saying but, at this point, I would try to make the best of it? Maybe? Your CI could turn out to be really cool, laid back and knowledgeable which would make your first rotation pretty amazing and build up your confidence to boot! On the up side, your CI will probably be able to reinforce a lot of the stuff you learned in school while you're in the clinic because she/he just graduated themselves. I would probably roll with it!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,
I'm a 3rd year DPT student going into my first clinical affiliation. I've been assigned my CI, who is a recent PT school grad (1-2 years clinical experience).