2.92 cGPA, 3.43 sGPA, 43R MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rabbit36

Lagomorphadelic
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My numbers are very bizarre. I graduated with a 2.92 overall, because my first three years I failed a total of 7 classes from not going or turning in papers as a social science major. very stupid and immature back then. Dropped out and came back a few years later as a biology major, was above 3.7 last 5 semesters taking heavy science loads, getting A's in genetics, biochem, cell bio, calc 1, physics 2, ochem 1 and 2, nutrition, physiology, anatomy, etc. as well as several humanities courses. Got 3.9 and 4.0 my last 2 semesters with very intense science course loads (taking physics 2, cell bio, biochem, and scientific writing my 4.0 semester).

Net result was 2.92 overall, 3.43 science (failed gen chem and physics first time way back). Just got my scores back and got a 43R (BS-15, VR-14, PS-14). Have worked in an ecology and an endocrinology lab, numerous EC's including hospital volunteering in an ICU and an infusion center, running two student organizations, and regularly bringing relief to families on the Navajo reservation. Can anyone honestly tell me how they think my early F's look against my later A's, MCAT and the rest? I feel I've very strongly addressed my past grades in my essays. I know more than one F is usually pretty unforgivable, but this doesn't really seem like a typical situation. I'm applying to Yale, Columbia, Pritzker, as well as Howard, Rosalind Franklin, UCONN, Temple and others. My numbers are just so strange I don't really know how to feel...

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users