MD 3.55 cGPA, 3.44 sGPA, 519 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yomilicious

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I will be applying June 2016 and am looking for early feedback about my application while I still have time to fix things if needed. I am currently a fourth-year undergrad, so I will be taking one gap year during my application cycle.

Stats:
  • BA in biology with honors at a top 20 university
  • Asian female, IL resident
  • cGPA: 3.55, expected to rise to a 3.6
  • sGPA: 3.44, expected to rise to a 3.5
  • GPA trend: looks like a checkmark: 1st year: 3.53, 2nd year: 3.35, 3rd year: 3.80, 4th year: 3.8+ (i hope). does this count as upward trend?
  • MCAT: 519 (129/131/129/130)

ECs:
  1. Research: worked in the same lab for 1.5 years, 750+ hours. 2 posters, 1 senior thesis. a first author paper is currently in the works, but may not be published in time.
  2. Work: 2 years working as a clerical aide for a professor of Healthcare Administration (750 hours), one summer interning at the American Cancer Society (400 hours)
  3. Student Organizations /Leadership:
    • executive board of a multicultural sorority for 2 years, including 1 year as president. very involved; led my chapter to win chapter of the year and completely renovated the new member process.
    • VP of the Greek Council for 2 years
    • member of a dance team for four years. led our annual showcase for the past three years, as well as various performances and competitions.
    • 1 year on the exec board of a cultural club
    • 2 years in a pre-medical fraternity
  4. Clinical Volunteering: only 25 hours so far at a community clinic. (probably my weakest area, will work hard to bring this up to a minimum 100)
  5. Non-clinical Volunteering: 100 hours from various sources through my sorority, nothing consistent unfortunately
  6. Shadowing: 50 hours with different doctors