3.70 cGPA, 3.58 sGPA, 35S MCAT [School List + When to Apply]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TRSTme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, sorry for the long post, but I'm looking for a little advice as to when (and where) would be best to apply. I know that earlier is usually best, but I'm currently taking a 9 credit summer research course which would (if I do well, which I'm very confident I shall) effectively boost my cGPA to a 3.72 and my sGPA to a 3.64, which is a pretty substantial increase from 3.58. The issue is I would only receive the grade at the very end of August, which could potentially hurt my chances. Would the wait be worth the risk?

Here's the rest of my stats, for context:

I'm a Canadian resident, which basically restricts me to applying to mainly mid/top-tier private schools. I'm an Honours Cell Biology major at a top-tier school here, which is well recognized in the U.S. (in the Northeast, at least). First time, non-URM applicant.

For MCAT: 35S (12PS 12VR 11BS). Although my GPAs are a relatively low for the schools below, there's been a huge upward trend (3.24 in first semester, with a 4.0 semester and two >3.85 semesters since).

ECs:

- Extensive experience working with often-neglected areas of society:
i) HIV/AIDS prevention and harm reduction work among street youth and intravenous drug users;
ii) Several years of teaching swimming lessons for children with special needs
iii) Experience facilitating workshops dealing with issues of gender, sexuality and sexual assault to first-year university students;
- A year of experience as a Medical First Responder for large events (>20,000 people);
- Assisted developing an innovative project to address a need for increased sexual education for high schools in my area;
- Several years of research experience (including a non-first author publication by the end of the summer);