A Question About Chemistry Pre-Reqs for Med School (Please help!)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The One Who Knocks

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am slightly confused, and I am hoping someone would be able to answer.

I am a pre-med student at Wayne State University, and my school's typical chemistry sequence is
General Chemistry I, followed by Orgo 1, then Orgo 2, and then General Chemistry 2.

However, my General Chemistry 2 class is dubbed "Analytical Chemistry", and I hear it is a very difficult and frustrating class, and also, one that is not needed for the MCAT. I would much rather take this class after the MCAT, however, since I will be taking the MCAT in the spring of my junior year, I will not have time to actually complete the General Chemistry 2: Analytical class until AFTER I have already applied to medical school.

However, from what I've read online, pretty much all med schools require 1 year (2 semesters) of General Chemistry.

My question is: do I need Gen. Chem 2: Analytical for the MCAT/for medical school application purposes? Or can I complete it after applying? I am not sure what to do.

Thanks in advance for the help and clarification.

Members don't see this ad.

If your schools version of Gen Chem 2 is Anal Chem (and that's what it seems like) then you'll have to take Anal Chem. I haven't taken it (yet, I'm a chem major) but I heard that it's just electrochemistry and titrations over and over and over again. But, take my advice lightly. I'm just a pre-med myself.