As a transfer, is taking pre-reqs at my previous university ok?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

roadhogmain

Reaction score
Hello, I transferred to Cornell from UMass Amherst. I'm currently a sophomore. I am currently taking physics, and plan on taking organic chemistry 1 and 2 (lectures only) over the summer at UMass. My plan is to take Cornell orgo lab during junior fall, and also biochem/genetics/etc at Cornell. Is this ok? My logic is that prestige doesn't matter, and that my Gen bio/Gen chem/stat/calc 1 grades are already from UMass.

Here are a few more questions I have:

1) Theoretically speaking, would it be looked down for me to take even more pre-reqs beyond orgo lecture over the summer at UMass? what's the limit?
2) Would it be bad if my GPA at UMass is way higher than at Cornell? (like 3.9 at umass but like 3.5-3.7 at cornell?)

My logic is that admissions committees (for the most part?) don't care about prestige, and pragmatically, Cornell is significantly more rigorous than UMass. And you are probably wondering why I transferred--it's 15k cheaper a year for me to go to cornell (more than full tuition off).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I could be way off base here, some of the other adcom members may say something different, and if so, listen to them.

But if I was reading your app (I'm actually sitting here now reading applications to my school and rating them), I wouldn't care about any of this

Reactions: 1 users
If you go back to UMass for the summer after taking courses at Cornell, you will be judged more harshly that your fellow students who took the same courses at Cornell.

If you delay your transfer to Cornell until after you've taken summer classes, you might be judged less harshly than the above scenario but considered second rate to someone who did all 3-4 years at Cornell earning the same overall GPA that you'll have.

Reactions: 1 user