MD & DO AD officer, low gpa, avg MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bommer1389

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the posting, but I have been following a lot of threads the last couple months and it's been great seeing all the constructive feedback. I have been very intimidated in the past to contribute anything (you'll see why with my stats), but seeing the recent positive threads regarding military members applying have been encouraging to me. So any help here would be great!

Pros:
Non-traditional (I think?) Graduated high school in '08, but continued playing my sport hoping to get a scholarship before attending undergrad. One of the Academies offered me an appointment as a D1 recruit. I started undergrad fall '10, lettered all 4 years in my sport (including team captain senior year) and graduated in spring '14. I majored in Biology, and did all the leadership/mentorship that most Academy students accomplish in their Academy careers.

Cons:
3.13 cGPA, still low even considering it's an Academy.

MCAT 2x during spring/summer '13(both low-mid 20's, better 2nd time). I had already submitted my AMCAS when I got the 2nd score. I chose not to continue with secondaries for several reasons.

I know my stats are low, but I never gave up the dream (maybe it's a fantasy) and studied as hard as I could for someone working full-time active duty and got a 507 on the June MCAT. I have since applied (mostly low-mid tiers, 2-3 reaches for sure, some DO as well) and filled out a few secondaries.

I think it's safe to say my EC's overall are my strongest point. Please feel free to help me with any advice, and I'd be happy to explain anything further.

Members don't see this ad.