Admission to med school based on race (Asian - Indian) after completing post-bac

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

racermike1967

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Let me start out by stating that this topic is not meant to discriminate against any races. It would be great to have anyone and everyone respond.

Hey all, I have been looking at admission statistics on the AAMC website and I'm just curious to know about the races represented in the Asian category. Asian includes many countries and the statistics did not help me much. I myself am Indian and just about to finish my undergraduate at SUNY Binghamton in electrical engineering with a 3.25 overall gpa and a 3.4 major gpa.
As of now my plan is to apply to Hunter's post-bac program and then after completion of their requirements, apply to med-school in the new york city and long island area. I have no experience volunteering in hospitals or other medical related experiences but have great interest in learning medicine and helping individuals with medical problems. As a student in my middle school and high school years, I have always been fascinated by biology and chemistry and now that I have finially (after 4 years in engineering) decided to pursue a career as a physician, I am curious as to my chances of acceptance into medical school considering that I am Indian and also planning on completing a post-bac program at hunter. Are there any individuals on the forum who were in my situation and got accepted into medical school? Are there any individuals who went to Hunter's post-bac program and gained acceptance to medical school in NYC?

Members don't see this ad.