Advice for a PhD student interested in medicine?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuremed77

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am currently a PhD student at "top 10" US university in the medical sciences area who is interested in pursuing medicine after the PhD. The following is a brief snapshot of my profile:

Citizenship
Canadian

Education
-PhD (current), funded by school and national fellowships
-MS*, GPA 3.8, funded by national fellowship
-BS*, GPA 3.7 (graduated magna cum laude)

*my MS and BS were done at the same institution at an "unknown" Canadian university

Awards
-received several scholarships (e.g. for leadership, community service, academic achievement, etc.) during undergrad and master's in addition to the competitive national fellowships.

Work experience
-1 year of public health experience working at a federal health agency
-1 summer of undergraduate lab experience in basic science
-2 years of TA experience during MS
-1 year of teaching fellow during PhD

Other professional activities
-chaired several conference organizing subcommittees

Publications
-over half a dozen conference oral and poster presentations
-no publications yet (but expecting several during the course of next few years of my PhD from PhD and MS research results)

MCAT
-will take next fall (good standardized test taker, scored >1400 on GRE)

I am wondering if you guys have any general advice for me on how to prepare myself for admissions and whether or not I am competitive for top tier MD programs at Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Yale, etc. assuming I get at least 30 on MCAT and with PhD in hand?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am wondering if you guys have any general advice for me on how to prepare myself for admissions and whether or not I am competitive for top tier MD programs at Harvard, Johns Hopkins, Yale, etc. assuming I get at least 30 on MCAT and with PhD in hand?