Advice for a striving D.O.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Striving D.O.

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I am a non-traditional 27yr old aspiring D.O. who finished my Biology with emphasis in medicine bachelors April 2021. I was lost and had a lot of personal/family hurdles/situations in the beginning and had to restart college twice with one academic expulsion in my first attempt. I began the journey as a forestry major but after getting exposed to biology and premed students/professors I realized quickly that is where my passion lies. It took me many years while working full time but I graduated without any debt. My cGPA is 3.1 and sGPA is 3.3. My first MCAT was a 498 and after not receiving any intervews I'm retaking the MCAT in August and have averaged 508 on the practice FL's. FWIW I applied to 5 schools on my first round. I have 2000+ hours as a paid medical scribe at a plastic surgery clinic with some amazing experience and direct patient contact with many responsibilities and work closely with the surgeon. I have 150 volunteer hours at St. Mary's food bank. I have 600hours of internship at an orthopedic surgery clinic where I worked closely with MA's, PA's, and was able to shadow the surgeons during clinic and mainly took HPI's as I roomed patients, took vitals removed sutures, bandages, etc. I performed research in college with 2 small publications. My question to the SDN community is if I should do a Post Bacc program or if my GPA/application is too weak given my age. I have had a lot of anxiety as I've wanted nothing more than to become a D.O. and have sacrificed a lot to try and get accepted into a program. I do not plan on giving up now but would also like some realistic expectations and any feedback/guidance is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello everyone.