Advice for gap year- Wayne State BMS vs. Retakes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

femmegoblue

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I need some solid advice about what to do this next year. First of all, I am 100% dedicated to osteopathic medicine and have done literally everything MSUCOM has told me to do (all of the visits, tours, admissions things etc that they ask in their secondary). I am a MI resident and MSUCOM is where I want to be.

Stats:

cGPA: 3.19
sGPA: 2.8
MCAT: 502

Significant DO shadowing w/ MSUCOM alum and current OMM professor for the OMSI's and letter from her. Strong commitment to the underserved which is evident in my PS. Volunteering at free clinic, research at UM health system and UM SPH. 100+ additional hours in mother baby unit, very strong leadership positions at UM (orientation leader + tour guide), unique UG major that always gets attention/sparks interest, becoming a doula in Nov.

The problem:

C+ in Orgo I and II
C in Physics I and II

Those are my only "poor" grades but since I was a social science major they sig. bring down my sGPA.

My question:

I was admitted to Wayne State BMS and am almost 100% doing it because it is well recieved by MI schools. I have only recently began to re-consider this and simply spend the year retaking these four classes. If I get A's in all four, my sGPA raises to 3.4 (huge jump).

So, what should I do? Enroll in well known and respected BMS and aim for all 4.0 and strong prof rec letter, or do retakes on my own (4 classes). Again, ideally wanna stay in Michigan and ideally ideally MSUCOM.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Since MSUCOM is your #1 goal and you're 100% dedicated to DO, I would call MSU admissions office and ask them directly which of these they would rather you do. Getting the sGPA up to a 3.4 would help tremendously. Your cGPA isn't great but the rest of your app appears fine.