Advice needed for high school senior!

kitvicto

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, peoples. I'm graduating in less than three months (time passes so quickly!), and I have been accepted to Purdue University and Christian Brothers University in Memphis.

My goal is to become a forensic pathologist, so I am majoring in Biology before I go to medical school.

My question is should I go to a name brand school (Purdue) or should I go to my local school? If I go to Purdue, my debt would be around 120,000$, and my local school, 45,000$.

I have also had some people tell me that I should choose Nursing instead because of the vast amount of jobs available. Is the job outlook for a forensic pathologist any good? I don't want to put myself through almost a decade of school and paying off debt and end up not getting a position.

Thanks for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, peoples. I'm graduating in less than three months (time passes so quickly!), and I have been accepted to Purdue University and Christian Brothers University in Memphis.

My goal is to become a forensic pathologist, so I am majoring in Biology before I go to medical school.

My question is should I go to a name brand school (Purdue) or should I go to my local school? If I go to Purdue, my debt would be around 120,000$, and my local school, 45,000$.

I have also had some people tell me that I should choose Nursing instead because of the vast amount of jobs available. Is the job outlook for a forensic pathologist any good? I don't want to put myself through almost a decade of school and paying off debt and end up not getting a position.

Thanks for your help!

Assuming you have no preference and like the schools equally, I would say it's best to choose the cheaper school. Unless you're going to a top tier college, I don't think reputation matters all that much. Just get A's wherever you go.