Advice/Opinions - 3.7 GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JPSmyth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time posting here, but since I have decided to go pre-med I have been looking through the forums finding out some interesting stuff. I just wanted some outside advice/opinions to know for sure if I am cut out for this. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

I understand the dedication that medical school requires, and I am pretty confident that I will be able to motivate myself to get through it. I am not extraordinarily bright (scored somewhere between 1200 and 1300 on my SATs) , but I think that I will be able to just study hard and put in the time to make up for it.

I just completed my freshman year of college at a small school in Boston, and I will be attending BU next year as a transfer. My current GPA is a 3.7, but I was undecided about my major so I only took gen ed requirements my first year. I am concerned that with a more intense workload with Organic Chemistry and more difficult classes like that, my GPA might slip to somewhere around a 3.5. I was an intern at Harvard Medical School this year, and I plan on attempting to get as many internships and other beneficial opportunities as I can. I just was curious as to how competitive medical schools truly are. If I am able to maintain somewhere between a 3.5 or 3.7 and have some good extra curriculars on my resume, what score should I be aiming for on my MCAT? Somewhere around a 30?