Airway bougies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedAnesthesia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been put in charge of finding bougies for my group. I'm new to my group and I'm big proponent of using bougies with difficult airways. Somehow my group hasn't ever had them before. I'm curious as to what brand you guys have in your groups? Just for clarification, I'm not asking about long cook exchange catheters, but the gum elastic bougies with bent tip.

Members don't see this ad.

I've been put in charge of finding bougies for my group. I'm new to my group and I'm big proponent of using bougies with difficult airways. Somehow my group hasn't ever had them before. I'm curious as to what brand you guys have in your groups? Just for clarification, I'm not asking about long cook exchange catheters, but the gum elastic bougies with bent tip.
Before the glidescope the bougie was the go to tool to get you out of difficulty. why doesnt your group haveone?

Members don't see this ad :)
sun-med.com

He is new but the groups isn't! Did you see the part where I asked him why his group didnt have one?
What does that mean? I have never used one. They didn't have them in my residency (pre glidescope) and I have been just fine without them.

Before the glidescope the bougie was the go to tool to get you out of difficulty. why doesnt your group haveone?

Our patient population is 60% peds and 40% adults which often times peds population it isn't needed. I asked the question multiples times why we don't have them and nobody really knows. Bougies have saved my ass more than I can count. We will be getting some soon depending on what I pick. Thanks for any input.
Red

One of my critical care attendings would always put a bougie in his pocket as we ran to codes. It must have been a talisman as we never used it (when I was on service ;))

The bougie is archaic.

Members don't see this ad :)
The bougie is archaic.