Am I transferring for the right reasons?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stebgbby

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I sent some applications to transfer schools. I'm a freshman in undergrad at a school that is paying me to attend. I am very honored to be at this private school on full scholarship, however I have a lot of problems with their science department. I came here because it was free but I'm regretting it because many of my friends are in pre-med and are having a much better experience.
My friends often talk about how their first semester was extremely easy because their gen classes give massive curves (none of my professors curve) and how A grades are 87% and higher. I feel very discouraged because I am making 90-91% in most of my classes with no curve, using the same textbooks and getting the same assignments as my friends, but I'm getting A/Bs at my school which have ruined my GPA. It's just really annoying that all my pre-med friends are all talking about getting 88s and having a 4.0 GPA while mine has dipped to around a 3.5 with my A/Bs.
Now I'm worried that my transcript will pale in comparison to others because of my science department's crazy weighting, but do you think this is a good enough reason to transfer schools?
Do med schools take in consideration weird grading schemes (like an A=94+ at my school and a 87+ is an A at my friends' equally ranked school) or does that not matter and I should jump ship while I can?
Maybe others have similar experiences? Please share if you do. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.