Am I wasting my time applying this year? Nontrad student looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOhopeful73

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background information: I graduated from a university of california school with a degree in biological sciences 5 years ago. I managed a GPA of 2.6 (yikes I know). Since then I worked briefly as an EMT before becoming an ER scribe. I have worked in a total of 3 hospitals and now am working as a clinical information manager (basically a promoted scribe). Prior to starting my current post bac I took the mcat for the first time while being out of school for 4 years and scored a 503 (126/126/125/126).

I have been very successful in my post bac. Classes are listed below and have been taken at my alma matter (University of California) where I initially did poorly during my undergrad years. I have maintained this GPA while working as an ER scribe doing 3 shifts a week, maintaining financial independence, and conducting my own clinical research associated with an academic trauma center. In fact I have written my own research proposal and will be performing a retrospective chart review in the upcoming weeks.

This is in addition to my ~4000 hours of clinical experience. My winter schedule will consist of biochemistry, human genetics, and an additional neuro physiology class. Currently I have 31 units at a 4.0 sGPA. By the end of Spring 19 i will have amassed 51 units of post bac GPA hopefully also at a 4.0.

My question to you, am I on track for being a successful applicant this year? What else should I do, realistically I do not have much time for proper MCAT preparation as my school/work/research schedule has me at near capacity as is? I have ~300-400 volunteer hours in the ER and I helped a homeless association for a year time frame before starting my post bac.