AMCAS and Ohio Speeding

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Premed wrestler

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've done a search and I have seen this mentioned on several threads, but no absolute answer. I am an Ohio resident and as a Juvenile I got citations for a speeding ticket (age 17) and failure to control (age 16). I just found out that that these are classified as minor misdemeanors under Ohio's laws. I am starting the AMCAS application process now and do you have a misdemeanor is a question. Since my license was expunged after turning 18 do I still include these? Is it still considered a misdemeanor since other states don't classify it as one? And finally will I be screened out to schools if I click yes on the misdemeanor tab? I just don't want to be screened out of medical schools because of a spin out and going 10 mph over the speed limit. I would really appreciate a response from ADCOMS thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

And in most cases, speeding is considered petty or an infraction; misdemeanor is punishable by code via jail time or community service which typically, speeding tickets do not invoke (and if the speeding ticket was higher than 20 mph, typically that turns into reckless driving coupled with speeding in which case the misdemeanor is the reckless driving and the speeding ticket is the infraction)

Look here:http://criminal.findlaw.com/criminal-law-basics/infractions.html

And in most cases, speeding is considered petty or an infraction; misdemeanor is punishable by code via jail time or community service which typically, speeding tickets do not invoke (and if the speeding ticket was higher than 20 mph, typically that turns into reckless driving coupled with speeding in which case the misdemeanor is the reckless driving and the speeding ticket is the infraction)

Look here:http://criminal.findlaw.com/criminal-law-basics/infractions.html