Animal Experience + Volunteer work before applying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yesnomaybe

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional student with a degree in graphic design and am very close to finishing my pre-reqs to be able to apple for vet school in October. I feel so far behind my younger classmates and so clueless as to what's needed as far as volunteer work goes. My advisor wasn't very detailed. All he said was to try and get in some hours at the zoo, humane society, or animal clinic. I see in the archives here, people mention animal experience only counts if you're directly working with or under the vet. Is this so?

If I am starting at zero hours of volunteer/animal experience (aside from owning pets and pet-sitting ha) and want to get in enough to be able to apply for vet school in October 2012, how many hours a week do you suggest I try to work with a vet? I work fulltime as a graphic designer, so ideally I would like to do do both. But should I be finding a job in the science area? I don't want being a graphic designer to hurt me when I do finally apply.

:confused:

Members don't see this ad.

I see in the archives here, people mention animal experience only counts if you're directly working with or under the vet. Is this so?

:confused:

"Animal experience" does not require supervision of a vet, but "veterinary experience" does! They are two separate parts of your application.

Being a graphic designer won't "hurt you", but not having hours will. Many people have between 1000 and 3000 hours when they apply, but other people have gotten in with 400 or so. It depends on each school. Where are you planning on applying?