Any Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acdc858

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My undergrad GPA is awful to say the least! cGPA = 3.07 and sGPA = 2.93. MCAT = 38.

So here's the situation; I have a low GPA overall because I was simply oblivious and didn't give it my all when I was in undergrad. I always relied on the fact that I would do well on the MCAT and that would somehow get me into a medical school.I also had a part time job (nearly full time ~30 hours/week) while in school and would tutor students on the side.

Keep in mind that doing well on the MCAT was the only chance I had of even being noticed by schools. I studied for the August test like it was a full time job for about 4 months and did very well (PS:13 BS:13 VR:12) considering my low GPA.

I have some volunteer experience, but I'm planning on applying in June 2014, so I have the time in between to get even more clinical experience. I am also considering singing up for the January MCAT again in hopes of getting a better score.

So my question is, do I have any chances of MD/DO. Mostly interested whether my MCAT score can somewhat offset the low GPA for Med school consideration. Also if taking the MCAT again and trying to raise it to a 40 will make a big difference (I know its not as easy as it sounds but I have no other choice)

Thank you! Appreciate any comments/advice

Members don't see this ad.

Wow! That's an amazing MCAT score, congrats. :)

I'm a premed like you so I can't offer all that much good advice, being as inexperienced as I am, but would it be possible for you to retake some classes that you might not have done well in? I believe for the DO applications, they allow you to replace some of your grades with retaken ones, and that would boost up your GPA. Would it be possible for you to do a post baccalaureate to help your GPA?