Any Dental Hygienists applying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RDH2DDS

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
!

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated in 2004 with a BS in Dental Hygiene and am applying for the 2007 cycle.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a hygienist, but I'm not applying...my husband is. I'm just a wierdo who likes to be on this site. Wierd, I know. I thought about going into dentistry, but I've decided hygiene is best for now.

I'm not a hygienist but I have a friend that is one and is now a D2 at OHSU - congratulations on your decision and best of luck!

I have been a dental hygienist for eight years. It has been flexible and very rewarding, but I am ready for a change. I have worked for six different dentists in 5 different states and a different country. I have learned a lot about what does and does not work in private practice. I am tired of playing by someone elses rules and am ready to put my own ideas into play. It's like I have been renting, and now I am ready to buy. Hopefully this works out.

SO which schools are you applying to? I eventually may get to that point, but it is way too stressful putting my husband through right now. Somebody's got to work to pay for all of these application fees and interviews!!!

I worked as a Dental Assistant/Receptionist for 3.5yrs when I did my undergrad. Plan on applying May 2007 for D-School. Good luck to all of us! :)

No kidding...what hygienist wouldn't love to work for a doctor who actually understands the hygiene side of things and understands completely where they are coming from.

Have any schools given you a break on your prereqs since you have a hygiene degree?

DO you plan to temp during school?