Applying as an Engineering Major

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jae9970

Freshman Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am fairly new here, and I was wondering about a few things..

- What schools should I aim for? (and thus apply?) BTW, I live in Pennsylvania..

I'm majoring in mechanical engineering with bioengineering minor. GPA so far is 3.79, and I took the MCAT last August and the score was 30O.

I have volunteering experience with Red Cross, helping out with blood drives, but I know this really doesn't count..

I have done a shadowing, not much but little, with a doctor who's working in the Internal Medicine, specifically Endocrinology. Right now, I feel I need to do a lot more shadowing and other clinically-relevant activities.

So what schools should I be aiming for? Obviously good, top schools are out of my range.. I'm trying to hear from some people if, realistically, I have a chance to get into some medical schools, at all.

Also I'm considering re-taking MCAT to improve my score.. would that be a good idea?

Any other feedback / comments will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

What schools should I aim for? (and thus apply?) BTW, I live in Pennsylvania..

I'm majoring in mechanical engineering with bioengineering minor. GPA so far is 3.79, and I took the MCAT last August and the score was 30O.

So what schools should I be aiming for? Obviously good, top schools are out of my range.. I'm trying to hear from some people if, realistically, I have a chance to get into some medical schools, at all.

Also I'm considering re-taking MCAT to improve my score.. would that be a good idea?

Get a copy of the MSAR. It will make your options very clear. Your numbers are probably good enough to get into a state school. I wouldn't get too adventurous beyond that.