Applying For Med School: How Do I Break The News To My Family?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

squintgeek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had always done very well at school, up until high school anyway. I have a university degree in IT, but it wasn't the best time of my life. I got distracted by financial problems (and more) so I had to extend. Let's just say that I was looked at as a failure for a lot of the things I've done in my early 20s.

I'm 29, I started my own business last year, and although it's taken off alright, like any other startup there are ups and downs. I now feel unchallenged (on a technical level) so I want to apply to med school.

I have absolutely no idea how to break the news to my family (as in my siblings, relatives and parents). I don't think they'll take me seriously but I need their emotional support for this. I know they will give it to me but the challenge is how to convince them that I'm actually serious.

Despite my troubles during my university years, I feel that the important thing was that I didn't give up. It took me a year longer than my peers to complete the course because of these hardships but I didn't give up. I refuse to discredit myself and allow people to believe that I'm some kind of bum.

I've had a relatively playful few years of my life, and it's my time to give back to the community. That's what the rest of my life should be about.

Should I tell my family about my plans before I apply, or should I go ahead and apply and if I am accepted I break the news then?

Members don't see this ad.