Away rotation -expectations and resources?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

promotemma

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm beginning a 4th year visiting student rotation on Monday and was curious what the level of expectation would be of me? I'm a DO student and have had few opportunities to compare myself amongst other medical students. I can gather a fair history, although I have trouble organizing the thoughts in my mind before verbalizing them and find myself editorializing as I go. I don't know how(when) to use any of the assessments apart from the MMSE (i.e., Becks depressions scale etc) I'm familiar with many of the drugs commonly used, however, I've not studied treatment guidelines really. So basically, I can gather information, give an idea of what the dx is and have an idea in my mind of maybe which drug to use. What's the next step? What should I be doing to improve what I have while adding the next logical step in the process as a student?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Oh it's a C/L rotation, but my question is also a little more global.

great questions, here are my dos and don'ts (the don'ts are based on things visiting students have done :wideyed:) ON C/L the only things you need to know how to do are a capacity assessment delirium assessment, suicide risk assessment, manage agitation, and recognize demoralization.