Been a year after my graduation with B.S. and I still have not apply to dental school. Suggestions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dream big

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I got my bachelor in Biology in december 2014 with a minor in Chem.
I always wanted to be a dentist since i was 15 years old. I know dentistry is what i want to do for the rest of my life. Here are the problems: Since i graduated i haven't done anything academic related but just working as a valet to make some money and some dentist shadowing. I scheduled to take my DAT on July 7th 2015... but a week before i was not prepared to take it. I honestly didn't study for it. I was not motivated what so ever. So i postponed it to August 4th 2015 and i know im still not prepared for it. I need at least one more month of studying or more since Im actually taking it serious to study for DAT. So far i had 1 gap year not doing anything useful. And i know if i take my DAT in September it would be late to apply this cycle. I really don't know what i should do. It's frustrating my girlfriend is starting med school this fall in Virginia and she really wants me to get into dental school this cycle; and also most of my friends are in their first or 2nd year of med, dental and pharmacy school. Since Im late to apply this cycle what should i do? Should i still apply late if money is not a big issue for me since my dad is willing to pay for me to apply to dental schools. Or should i go for master or postbacc. I always wanted to get out of school but since i graduated omg life is so boring. Any tips what i should do with my life to get into dental school i would appreciate it. Sorry my English is not that great.
I have GPA of 3.3 not sure what my science gpa is probably around there or maybe 3.2.