Berkeley Review going way to much into detail???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MCAT guy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do other prep companies do stuff like this?

I'm taking a full length and this is in the answer solutions:

Insulin is an eighty-six amino acid protein hormone that has three regions responsible for the activity of the compound. The A unit is composed of amino acids 66 through 86, the B unit is composed of amino acids 1 through 30, and the C unit is composed of amino acids 33 through 63. Amino acids 31 (Arg), 32 (Arg), 64 (Lys), and 65 (Arg) serve connectivity and folding purposes only.
why in the world would you need to know any of this for the MCAT?

My degree is in Micro, I've never run into explanations on Insulin's structure nor do I see any relevance to this info for the MCAT...

BR is so weird sometimes.

I also liked this question (lol):

What makes DNA more stable than RNA?
I. DNA lacks a hydroxyl group at the 2' carbon atom, making the polymer less susceptible to hydrolysis.
II. DNA is a double-stranded molecule, while RNA is found primarily as a single-stranded species.
III. DNA uses thymine instead of uracil as a nitrogenous base.
I only, II and III, I and II, or I, II and III

Obviously II, likely I also but III? Who would know III off the top of their head? You would need to have nitrogenous base structures memorized?

Members don't see this ad.

Do other prep companies do stuff like this?

I'm taking a full length and this is in the answer solutions:

why in the world would you need to know any of this for the MCAT?

My degree is in Micro, I've never run into explanations on Insulin's structure nor do I see any relevance to this info for the MCAT...

BR is so weird sometimes.

I also liked this question (lol):

What makes DNA more stable than RNA?
I only, II and III, I and II, or I, II and III