Biochemistry needed beforehand?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AJG_ATC

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I was recently accepted to Scholls program and am planning on starting in August. I have to finish my organic chemistry II course in the spring.
I have not taken Biochemistry yet. I studied full time this past summer for the MCAT and spent a good amount of time going over Biochemistry to compensate for not having taken the course. Would you recommend I take Biochemistry before I start Podiatry school? Is it a severe disadvantage to not already taken an undergrad Biochemistry course? Any advice would be helpful thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using SDN

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone!
I was recently accepted to Scholls program and am planning on starting in August. I have to finish my organic chemistry II course in the spring.
I have not taken Biochemistry yet. I studied full time this past summer for the MCAT and spent a good amount of time going over Biochemistry to compensate for not having taken the course. Would you recommend I take Biochemistry before I start Podiatry school? Is it a severe disadvantage to not already taken an undergrad Biochemistry course? Any advice would be helpful thank you!

I’m a current first year at scholl and I can say that it definitely won’t hurt taking it. I suppose it isn’t the end of the world if you haven’t taken it but if you do take it you will for sure have an advantage. If you’re a great memorizer you’ll be fine regardless.

Members don't see this ad :)
2nd year at Scholl, I can confidently say that having the previous exposure in your class now will significantly help you when you get the second exposure here. It will be early in the 1st semester so another positive reason to take it.

To be fair, it is worth a small amount of credit hours so that could be a con.