Biological Science Lab Requirement (UCI)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cmeza83

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from UCI in 2007 with a B.A. in Psych and a Minor in Bio and Phil.
Since then, I've been attempting to meet all the med school required courses at a community college (because of financial issues).
I've taken the MCAT, I'm finishing my last course of Ochem. All I have left, is to take Biochemistry.

I have a question about the biological science requirement at UCI (and I assume it will be a similar requirement at other schools).
I took the first 3 Core-Bio Courses for Bio Majors 93(DNA to Organism),94 (Organism to Ecosystem),97(Genetics), Ecology, Evolution, Bioethics, etc as well as other lower division and upper division (for the minor) courses. I got A's in all those courses, yet none of them had labs. I have taken microbiology and anatomy and physiology at Cerritos College since they have labs. Will those classes fulfill my lab requirement?

I really hope so, because time keeps going by and I keep finding more hurdles I need to go through before I can apply to medical school.

If I need to spend another year, re-taking basic bio I quit. I'll be 27 next week, and I still have done nothing with my life.

Members don't see this ad.

I have taken microbiology and anatomy and physiology at Cerritos College since they have labs. Will those classes fulfill my lab requirement?

I really hope so, because time keeps going by and I keep finding more hurdles I need to go through before I can apply to medical school.
These will most likely fulfill the lab requirement, but this is a very school-dependent thing so you have to check with each school you're interested in. Also, most (but not all, again, check to be sure) schools only require that you complete these pre-reqs by the time you matriculate, and the application cycle is an entire year.