MD Canadian (cGPA = 3.83, MCAT = 27), lacking ECs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ShaggyDoo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I graduated from a Canadian university with a B.Sc, this year. I applied to medical schools in the Caribbean, Ireland, Australia, and UK. I didn't apply in Canada/US. I got an interview at the Ireland medical schools; however, I didn't get accepted. I got accepted to the Caribbean medical school (one of the big 4) for September 2015.

I am thinking of taking a gap year and applying to Canadian/American medical schools. However, I'm not confident in my ECs. The reason why I didn't apply to Canada/US was because I wasn't confident in my chances. Now, I would like to apply to Canada/US medical schools though before heading to the Caribbean.

University:
Research: fourth year undergraduate thesis and volunteer at a lab
Employment: Teaching assistant, tutor, sales clerk
Volunteer: Peer mentor, help at a learning center, family doctor's clinic (the duration of these is not long: one semester up to two semesters)
Hobbies: art/paint, swim, ride bikes, run

High school:
Placement at nursing home: over the summer
Leadership clubs
Tutor
(I was a lot more involved in high school compared to university)

Any advice on my statistics and chances for Canada/US would be greatly appreciated! I'm looking at volunteering/finding a job for the gap year. Do you think my lack of ECs will affect my chances?
Or would it be better to go to the Caribbean this year?

Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: