Career Change

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kinokoboy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

Allow me to introduce myself. I got my undergraduate degree in accounting in 2005 and worked in an accounting firm for four years before making a career switch and I am now working at an Anatomic Pathology lab training to become a Histotechnician. I know I want to go to "grad" school whether it be for a Masters program as a Pathologists' Assistant (ASCP) or Medical School, but at this moment I can't decide which one I'd rather go to. Anyway, right now I'm doing all the science pre-reqs for both programs and have finished all the biological sciences and general chemistry courses and just started O-chem. I want to do well in all these courses, so I'm only taking them one at a time. So far, my sGPA is a 4.0 (boooooyah!!). I'm okay with going at this snails pace because I actually like working in Histology and I get to work with Pathologists doing special stains and IHC stains. Well, I really don't have any questions for any of you, I just wanted to let you know a little about myself and maybe listen to some of your stories.

Members don't see this ad.

The big question is: what can being a doctor offer you in terms of your career goals that being a Pathology Assistant cannot? Solve that, and you'll know.

Hi Everybody,