LA/CA Post baccs for career changer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silvergiirl

Reaction score
Hello! Looking for advice on post baccs in the Los Angeles area as well as general advice on becoming a more competitive candidate for med school.

Background: I’m 35 and have worked in education as a licensed teacher for the past 10 years. I have a dual BA in English & International Studies, 3.68 gpa. I did my MA in Education at Stanford a few years ago, 4.0 gpa. I have a couple years of public health work experience (from before I was a teacher) and I volunteered at a hospital for 7 months a few years ago when I first started considering this career shift.

So —

- Is a DIY or structured program better given my background? I’ve read good arguments for both.

- What affordable & respectable programs do you recommend in the Los Angeles area? Also open to programs outside LA if needed, preferably something I can do while working full-time. I’ve done some research but would love to hear from folks who have enrolled in (or decided not to enroll in) specific programs.

- What else do you recommend to become a more competitive candidate for med school? LA-specific recs would be great because I’m new to the area (originally from the east coast).

Please feel free to provide any other advice you think would help. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your life experience/job will already make you a competitive candidate, at least based on my experience and those of other nontrads I've encountered since starting school. You need to prioritize getting great clinical experience though, however that may come (and sustained volunteering, even if its just a few hours a week).