Chances for MD and Other Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dehydrated

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello fellow SDN users. Moderate-term lurker, first-time poster.

I am in the process of prepping for my application in Spring 2016.
I graduated about a year and a half ago with a BS in Chemistry. I have a cumulative GPA of 3.5, and a sGPA of 3.3.
My transcript has 3 C's and an F (Organic Chemistry II, Physical Chemistry II, and Biochemistry I). I think that I made up for my O.Chem II grade later, to some extent, when I got an A in Advanced / Medicinal Organic Chemistry in my senior year. Everything else is A's and B's, with the majority of credits being A's.
Chemistry was a bit hard for me, compared to things like calculus and physics, but that is part of the reason that I chose the degree. I wanted a challenge.

I haven't taken my MCAT yet, but I am avidly studying for it. I don't know what to expect score-wise, but I do tend to be a good (standardized) test taker.

Assuming that my MCAT scores are acceptable (I'm aiming for a score comparable to a 35-38 on the old test), would I have a decent chance of getting into an MD school, or would a DO school be my only option?

If extracurricular activities matter, I didn't work a whole lot during school, but here are some things that I did do during and just out of college:
  • I did a junior volunteer program at a local hospital during my freshman year (this did not include shadowing though)
  • TA'd chemistry labs for a year
  • Privately tutored calculus and chemistry
  • Was an undergraduate research assistant for 2 years (though we didn't really publish a lot in that time)
  • I played bass for multiple local churches and even toured with a Christian band for the duration of my time in college (as well as before and after college)
  • Practiced martial arts while in college (is that something I should bother to point out?)